Georgia Woman’s Last Act Saves Baby

I have had this conversation with a few friends lately about how tired I am (we are) of having to ‘prove’ that violence against womyn is a real and an incredibly important and overwhelming issue that NEEDS to me addressed. I’ve said that I could definitely give a new example EVERY. SINGLE. DAY of women being brutaly beaten and often killed JUST FOR BEING WOMEN. And that’s from the news, not from experiences shared with me, and obviously not accounting for the throusands that suffer in silence every day. I am so frustrated!
So for now I’m going to start collecting articles when I come across them, maybe I’ll place them eventually in their own page tab, but for now I’ll tag them all #tomorrowwillbedifferent to highlight both our need to act NOW to stop this situation from continuing, to break the silence, and also to call attention to what it is like to leave a violent situation. It is not for us to judge anyone in that situation, but to provide support and assistance in whatever way that person experiencing violence needs. Educating ourselves on the realities of abuse, methods of coercive control and better develop resources for those living with or fleeing abuse.

Today I came across this article about Georgia woman  Jessica Arrendale who’s partner and child’s father beat her with a baseball bat before shooting her in the head with a rifle. Her last act on this earth? Placing her baby in a toilet bowl and covering it with her body. Her daughter survived.
Rest in Power Jessica. 

Leave a Reply

