Robin Williams Was Loved, but Love Doesn’t Cure Mental Illness

This perspective was one that I feel sorely lacking from the current discourse on mental illness brought into the light by Robin Williams tragic passing yesterday.

“There were a lot of comments on Twitter about how much Robin Williams was loved and what a shame that he didn’t know it. I didn’t know Robin Williams, but I bet he did know that he was loved. I know that I am loved. Maybe not on a Robin Williams scale, but I have friends and family who would do anything for me, and I absolutely know this. But there comes a point where love does not matter…..Mental illness is an indiscriminate killer, one that I have been outrunning for years. So many of us are, and not all of us survive, and a tragedy like this reminds you how real the danger is. One problem is, it’s easy for most people to go back to forgetting.”

Check it out in full HERE 

Leave a Reply

