When Your Mother Says She’s Fat

This really struck a cord with me, I can relate so much. I can remember being barely 10 and watching a Richard Simmons informercial with my own mom and her ordering us each the food counter and video package, and I remember feeling relieved I would finally be thin and beautiful.
She never shamed (or praised) me for my ever fluctuating weight, but the way she viewed and treated herself absolutely helped shape my body image and relationship to food in a negative way.

Mom, you are beautiful

Leave a Reply

