What Happens When A Man is Abused in Public?

This is an interesting video I came across today showing the same scenario twice, only in one the man is abusing the woman, and in the other the woman is abusing the man. I am deeply saddened by the reactions. Turning a blind eye, while terrible, is what I expected to see. But laughing??
The statistic at the end of the video is from this source. While abuse of men is incredibly underreported and underacknowledged, I have a hard time believing the statistic that 40% of those suffering from domestic abuse are men. Although, if the methods of research to reach this number were actually inclusive and looked at all forms of abuse (not just physical, but emotional, spiritual, mental, financial, etc) I could see this number being closer to accurate. Men DO experience violence and abuse in many forms and I feel we all should, and I personally try, to serve as an ally to anyone and in any situation where space can be made for healing. Every survivor deserves for their voice to be heard.

That said, with example, after example of systemic, public, private, personal abuses of womyn for control and power, and especially after a week like the one we have just had with the mass shooting in Isla Vista DIRECTLY FUELED BY MISOGYNST HATE, and based out of my lived experiences and those of the people I’ve encountered, I have to say that the above statistic isn’t sitting quite well with me…http://www.trueactivist.com/this-is-what-happens-when-the-public-sees-a-woman-abusing-a-man/

Leave a Reply

