5 Ridiculous Myths About Cow’s Milk

5 Ridiculous Myths About Cow’s Milk

This shouldn’t really be news to anyone, much like big tobacco there is a lot of money to be made from the perpetual lies we’ve come to believe about this product.
Last year my partner and I both gave up meat. When I was hospitalized in October eating became a big challenge for me, I craved very little and was barely able to keep anything down. For this reason I started eating meat again. This is no excuse. It is the reason I made this decision but ultimately I just felt weak in doing so. I still find that after a few bites I cannot finish whatever is on my plate. I can’t stop thinking about who that animal used to be. It used to have thoughts and feelings and routines. What kind of life did it have? Was that way of life necessary? How have I contributed to an environment of cruelty and torture for these beautiful creatures?
The other night while out to dinner a conversation started up around veganism. To be honest, it was one of the best conversations on the subject that I’ve ever witnessed. Folks were respectful in their comments and questions, and it felt like a true dialogue, a well intended exchange of information. But the jokes were still there. The entire thing just made me feel embarrassed for my behavior (eating meat) because I don’t agree with it, but eat it because it’s quick and cheap and tasty. I find myself getting angry when I hear that ‘It’s too expensive to go veg’ or ‘it’s in my DNA’ or ‘it’s unhealthy not to have meat based proteins in your diet’. I completely understand that some folks have dietary needs that are best met with a meat based diet, and that each person’s access to food looks different. That being said, for the majority of people I talk to the issue is convenience, not accessibility. And I especially understand the cultural significance of hunting, eating, and wearing animals. But maybe try not to make that argument between mouthfuls of bologna sandwich. It’s times like these that I feel most strongly that speciesism is a real and very pressing issue. I hear quite often about the differences between ‘animals’ and ‘humans’, especially in their capacity to think and love. But until the late 60’s indigenous people of Australia were considered ‘flora and fauna’ under the law, which techincally means they have the rights of ‘animals’. It’s hard to deny that these experiences all fall onto the same continuum of oppression. Who decides how much feeling, how much thought, what kind of behaviour is civilized and qualifies one to rights and protections?
And I have barely touched on the HEALTH RISKS associated with over production, hormone and steroid usage and other issues that arise when discussing mass food production, food sustainability and animal rights.
For now, for me, it’s back to veg.

Leave a Reply

